madpen's journal

One Year

Some people say
Life goes by more quickly
As you get older, but
This past year
Straddling my 23rd and the 24th
Was the longest of my life
It seems
As I look back on
Entries in journals
Written a year ago to date
They read like
Artifacts, written lifetimes ago
Lost, confused, map-less
Heading somewhere
Heading nowhere
Condemned
Clutching
At anything
But while
I’m reading
Through the gloom
A silvery thread
Emerges
And I grasp it
Take a leap of faith
And follow it through
Squalor, hunger, peril, pain, loneliness
Understanding, ecstasy, peace, potential
Until I emerge again from the other end
And lift my head from the pages
Grown
And wonder
How many years went recorded,
Was it but one?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2012 by in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , .
